On a touchscreen.

Before I fall asleep, i want to mention the weather. I know that sounds strange, but here in Chicago, we can have 85 degree sun and 48 degree rain in a 24 hour period.

When I was little, I desperately wanted to be a meteorologist. I didn’t really want to be on TV, I just wanted to study weather more than anything. I felt a connection to it. Sun made me smile; rain made me thoughtful; snow made me quiet and playful. I still feel this way, and being in Chicago, these emotions can run through me quickly and frequently.

My dreams are affected by the weather, it seems. Those snowy days make for more challenging dreamscapes. Tonight, I hope to dream as an octopus, moving through the water as if I were just another liquid.

This writing before bed calms me. I feel ready to let my mind take over.

Go for it, imagination. Don’t let a silly thing like reality get in the way.

20130605-020401.jpg

2 comments

  1. lemonmem · June 5, 2013

    I feel like I come up with amazing dress and shoe designs right before I fall asleep…but like, RIGHT before, in the tiredest part before sleep. So I never write them down 😦

    • modernclassic13 · June 6, 2013

      You should leave a notebook by your bedside and just write down things blindly when you’re falling asleep! I do, and it makes for some good ideas and entertaining reading when I wake up 🙂

Leave a Reply

