Day One

Today was my first day teaching lesson plans by myself. I was terrified. I have been teaching for five weeks, but I was using my cooperating teacher’s lessons. Last week I taught a little of my own work, but it was mostly on verbs and wasn’t too bad.

So today, I took a big girl step and taught my own original lessons.

The periods are in 80 minute blocks. The first 40 minutes are dedicated to reading skills. The second half is more about grammar and writing conventions. I had the students start with independent reading for 10 minutes, which they do everyday. Then we reviewed what “conflict” means and how conflicts are resolved in literature. We’re reading The Ransom of Red Chief, which is a comedic short story. It’s not a great story, but it teaches them how to analyze short stories for the rest of this unit. Later this week, we’ll be reading The Tell-Tale Heart, which is one of my favorite short stories.

We did some work on vocabulary and then moved onto the wrap up of active voice. I showed them the opening monologue of The Newsroom (I couldn’t show it all because there’s some swearing, but I wish I could have!)

The students had to talk about why this is an effective speech. It went really well.

Overall, I’m very happy with how Monday went. I think the students did a great job comprehending the new information I gave them.

I’m kind of horrified that some of my students watch Breaking Bad, but if their parents let them, I’ll certainly talk with them about how I think the series will end.

Same with GTA V. If my students’ parents buy them the game, I’ll talk about it with them. Although, after playing it this weekend, I’m more horrified that they play this than the fact they watch Breaking Bad. At least Breaking Bad has a good story. 🙂

This week is going to be very slow and very intense, but at the same time, I know it will be done in the blink of an eye.

I think tomorrow will be just as good. Until then.

One comment

  1. QTRlifer · September 24, 2013

    Hope Tuesday went well too! You are going to great this whole week and beyond 🙂

Leave a Reply

