Am I in California yet?

I don’t have any super insightful remarks from my seventh week of teaching. There were a few positive and a few negative moments, but mostly it was just a huge relief to have this weekend. I am starting to fully appreciate time off, more than I ever did when I was working full time at a job I hated. Because I’m so in love with teaching, I put everything I have into it. As a result, I’m fucking beat by Friday at 3pm.

It was a nice weekend. James and I took walks, had friends over to play games, and ate muffins in bed together. I hate Sunday evenings. I hate that I have to leave my home and my fiancé of six years behind to come out to the suburbs to stay with my mom.
Don’t get me wrong, my mom is kickass. Staying with her is soothing. We’re both adults, and we treat each other as such. God I could punch my 13 year old self in the face for never realizing how much my mom did for me. But it’s cool, we’re friends now. ❤

I stay in the suburbs during the week because the school I’m student teaching at is under a mile away from my mom’s house. It takes me an average of four minutes from the driveway to school. I’m not making any money student teaching (in fact I’m paying my university an obscene amount of money), and I can’t justify the gas expenses and terrible commute from my apartment right now. It just makes sense to stay with my mom.

But, when you’ve dated someone for six years, lived with them for four, lived with them on your own in the city for three, and have been engaged for two, it’s hard as fuck to spend the week apart. I don’t get to come home to my partner and tell him about the trials and successes of my day. I don’t get to hear how his day went and help him study for the GRE. We don’t go to bed together and we don’t wake up next to each other with terrible hair and breath.

I can rock the next 4 weeks of student teaching, I know I can. And it makes those weekends so much more valuable. But, it will be extraordinary when I can teach and live with my fiancé at the same time.

This week, I’m introducing the kids to theatre and drama. Some are going to love it, and some are going to think it’s boring as hell. But, it is also the last full week I have to teach all periods of the day. Next Monday is Columbus Day, and we have off. Tuesday is an Institute Day (which I’m quickly learning is the worst type of day). Wednesday I teach, Thursday we go on a field trip, and Friday I teach. So that’s really only two days.

Then next Friday, James and I are going to Santa Monica to Tenacious D’s Festival Supreme to see The Mighty Boosh, Tim Minchin, Sarah Silverman, and far too many others OH MY GOD A VACATION AND COMEDY I AM GOING TO BE ON CLOUD NINE.
mightyboosh2
Seriously the goddamn Mighty Boosh.

But first, I have to get through this week. And it’s going to be a busy one. I’m ready and I’m excited, but I’m also starting to wrap my head around some of the politics and bureaucracy of teaching that I hadn’t experienced firsthand. It will be different someday when I’m a full time teacher, managing my own classroom.
I will be honest. There have been a few days where I’ve questioned my capabilities. How easy would it be to go back into retail and just become an assistant manager? There would be so much less pressure for me, and I’ve worked in retail before, I could do it again.

But then a student would come up to me in the hallway and say, “Ms. ____, I think I finally understand this book!” “Ms. _____, you were totally right about that character, I get it now!”

Last week, I told the students that I would be leaving in the second week of November. They all had the same reaction: “No! Why?!”

And that reaction is my fuel.
I will be am amazing teacher, and doubting myself only shows that I want to improve.

So let’s kick this week in the dick, world. Let’s kick it right in the dick, and let’s make it the week that all weeks are jealous of.

teacher-instructing-students

LET’S DO IT, CLICHE IMAGE OF A WHITE FEMALE TEACHER. LET’S DO IT RIGHT.

2 comments

  1. Sarah Z · October 7, 2013

    Kate,

    You will be an AMAZING teacher! Don’t let a couple days ruin what you really want to do…and don’t ever think about going back to retail!! haha. Keep your chin up girly.

    Sarah Z*

    • modernclassic13 · October 7, 2013

      Thanks girl! I’m really loving this experience, it’s been exhausting but in the best possible way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

