Come with me now, on a journey through time and space…

As I’ve mentioned many a time on my blog, I adore comedy, particularly British comedy. It’s the most fantastic form of expression, and it got me through the hardest months of my life last year/early this year. For my 25th birthday/my upcoming graduation in November, my grandparents used their frequent flyer miles and bought two tickets for my fiance and myself to Festival Supreme, Tenacious D’s first comedy festival out in Santa Monica.

I waited patiently for four months.
A few days ago, I had the best vacation of my life.

(Note: click on any of the pictures for an expanded image!)

It started out ominous: our flight from Chicago to Los Angeles was delayed by 2+ hours.
1383783_3159538584489_1782123631_n
We tried to make the best of it, but we were already exhausted from full days. I’d been teaching since 8am.

God bless the time change. We arrived in LA at 11:30pm, which was 1:30am our time. The taxi ride to the hotel was short and sweet (but nowhere near cheap), and we settled in to our beautiful hotel room.
IMG_7255
Yes I am that person who takes photos of my entire trip. Y’all should know that by now.

We had exemplary room service.
IMG_7262
Look at the goddamn potatoes.

And we wandered down to the pier at 12:30 at night. In Chicago, you can’t walk around large public venues without cops questioning you. It just doesn’t happen. Here, we were able to quietly take everything in. I’d never felt so relaxed after a day of travel.
IMG_7268

We also were excited to see the set up for the festival that was to come. I couldn’t wait.
IMG_7269
This area would later become virtually inaccessible.

We went to bed late, too excited for the following day to begin.

IMG_7284
Good morning, Santa Monica. You’re looking fabulous today.

It was finally here. I was going to see my favorite comedy group on stage, feet away from me.
I didn’t discover The Mighty Boosh until a little over a year ago. My grandmother was going through intense brain radiation as a method of treatment for invasive small-cell cancer. Her mental state was hazy at best; we had no idea what would happen. I fell into a deep depression, riddled with intense panic attacks. My best friend recommended I take my mind off of things and watch this show he liked.
It may sound silly, but The Mighty Boosh kept me going through the winter.

I never thought I’d get the chance to see them live. Ever. That morning I woke up in Santa Monica, I felt happier than I had in a very long time.
IMG_7309

We went down to the pier and took in the beautiful morning.
IMG_7304

And we had to go in the ocean.
IMG_7353
IMG_7381

After we spent the morning frolicking along the coast, we changed and headed to the festival.
We arrived to a massive line around 2pm. The first act we wanted to see (Garfunkel and Oates) didn’t start playing until 2:45, so we figured we had some time.
The line wrapped around blocks of Santa Monica streets. We were really concerned it was going to take forever to get in. However, once the line started moving, it went pretty quickly.
IMG_7402
The Omega Stage held a lot of the bigger acts, such as Tenacious D, Tim and Eric, and The Gregory Brothers. We only stuck around here for a little while.
IMG_7403
If you’ve never been to Santa Monica, it gets foggy very quickly.

Garfunkel and Oates were lovely. They played a 30 minute set, but their sound unfortunately stopped working several times during their performance. They still rocked it out, though.
IMG_7412
IMG_7413

We then scuttled over to The Mighty Tent (how genius, right?), but first we ran into Jack Black.
IMG_7417
He was insanely nice and greeted the early festival goers with hugs and smiles.

So here we were, smack dab in the middle of where the Boosh would be playing. I told my fiance that once I found a good spot, I wasn’t leaving. We waited for three hours, and we saw some utterly fantastic acts in the meantime.

First, there was Nancy and Beth, a musical duo led by Megan Mullally and Stephanie Hunt. They had stunning voices (really!) and played old 1950’s-style choir and blues music. It was a delight.
IMG_7425
At one point, Fred Armisen joined them onstage to pass out hats and play the cymbals.

After they performed, Eric Idle and the Jeff Davis Experience came onstage. I held my breath as one of my biggest heroes was called up by Jack Black.
IMG_7434
“Ladies and gentlemen…Eriiiiiiiic Iiiiiiiiiidlllllllle!”

YES. Bring it ON.
IMG_7436
Wait…
IMG_7438
“They said Eric Idle. Not Billy Idol.”
“No they didn’t, I heard my name.”
IMG_7439
“I assure you they said my name, not yours.”

IMG_7444
Then Billy Idol proceeded to lead us in a rousing rendition of “The Lumberjack Song”. How fucking brilliant!

IMG_7450
Eric Idle, the legend himself, wearing a snakeskin suit on an 80 degree day. He and Jeff Davis (a former cast member of the American version of Whose Line is it Anyway?) gave an amazing performance of old and classic Python songs.

IMG_7457
Jeff Davis during the lovely performance of “Bruce’s Philosopher Song”.

IMG_7460
We all sang along!

Then this happened.
IMG_7462
And my heart melted.

They ended their performance with “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”, and I actually cried.

After Eric Idle came Reggie Watts. I didn’t know much about him before this, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I knew he made lots of experimental music, but that’s about it.
IMG_7467
He blew my fucking mind.

After a few songs, he brought out a dance troupe from Brooklyn who performed alongside him for most of the set. They were mesmerizing.
IMG_7473
IMG_7474
IMG_7476

I was completely absorbed in their movement, I almost forgot what I was doing there in the first place. But as he wrapped up his last song, my stomach started to flutter, and my heart started to drum.
IMG_7480
Thank you Mr. Watts, but I’m overwhelmed with excitement for the next act.

The crowd at this point was massive. I felt a pang of claustrophobia as I looked back.
IMG_7478
Look at those lovely photogenic people. But dear God YOU CAN’T SEE THE OUTSIDE ANYMORE.

The girl next to me started making light conversation, and we geeked out over our love for the Boosh, Richard Ayoade, and Never Mind the Buzzcocks. The woman on the other side of me had a Boosh pin on her cardigan. She said she’d made it in her digital design class.
I was wearing my Vince Noir jacket, one I’d made a few months back.
IMG_7426

After what felt like hours of waiting, the lights started to dim.
IMG_7482
First, Noel and Julian came onstage in monk robes to ominous music. The cheer was deafening. I mean, I literally couldn’t hear myself.

IMG_7495
They began to sing “Electro Boy”, which in turn caused everyone to make the fantastic hand gestures that go with it. It was pretty fantastic to look back and see over a thousand people dancing along.

IMG_7496
OH MY GOD. Noel has a new mirrorball suit.

Vince Noir and Howard Moon began their fantastic bit of “Don’t touch me. Don’t ever touch me.”
IMG_7498
Can we talk about how beautiful and beige Howard looks? Just genius.

IMG_7499

IMG_7500

The man. The myth. The Moon.
IMG_7501

After their initial five-minute routine, Noel shooed offstage, and Julian proceeded to do Howard’s classic corduroy tease dance.
IMG_7504
HOLY SHIT ELBOW TASSLES.

IMG_7507
My fiance said that if you didn’t explain this image to anyone, it looks like Cher was injured. Jean-Claude Jaquettie…

They started singing a new and fabulous song about deer and nature. It was equally mystical and metal.
IMG_7509
Julian Barratt is a guitar genius.

IMG_7515

IMG_7516

Then, Julian left the stage and Vince introduced the one and only Naboo! I have to say, he might have been my favorite character to see live, simply because he was completely silent.

IMG_7519
Their parents must be so proud, am I right?
IMG_7521

And then the hero stepped onto the stage.
IMG_7522
And nobody rocks a house like Bob motherfuckin Fossil.

Julian came on and did “Call of the Yeti”.
IMG_7528
I FINALLY GOT A GOOD SHOT OF DAVE BROWN. Don’t think I forgot about the amazing Dave Brown, because that is just impossible.

IMG_7531
He played some fantastic instruments…

IMG_7534
including this. This may be the funniest image I’ve ever seen.

After “The Call of the Yeti”, it was the moment we’d all been hoping for.
IMG_7537
And it did not disappoint. A combination of Bailey’s and the knee sweat of Bootsy Collins.

IMG_7538
“Howard, do you love me?” “Oh, dear.”

IMG_7539
You can feel the awkward.

IMG_7542
Dave Brown: the man of seamless costume additions.

IMG_7543
“A scaly manfish.”

IMG_7545
And what would Old Gregg be without his art?

IMG_7546
I wish I’d been just a little closer.

IMG_7547
I wanted the drawing of the satsuma.

IMG_7548
Oh thank you sir for looking directly into my massive camera. Thank you so very much.

TIME TO END THE SHOW ALREADY?! I’m sad.
But let’s end with “Love Games”, which everyone knew, of course.
IMG_7550
Can we talk about how amazing this picture is?

IMG_7558
The face that’s made when you ask Howard to scat. Pure concern.

IMG_7562
It wouldn’t be a Boosh show without some awkward dancing by Naboo and Bob Fossil.
IMG_7563

And finally, the highest quality image I got the whole time. A perfect group shot.
IMG_7569

Thank you, Boosh. Thank you for everything. I was completely exhausted after this.

James and I decided to leave the festival at this point and walk around. We needed nourishment and libations after that religious experience.

IMG_7577

We sat at a nearby bench on the beach and listened to Tenacious D after we had a delicious dinner.
IMG_7578
My fiance needed fruit and protein. I needed caffeine.

IMG_7582
I AM SO TIRED AT THIS POINT.

We scooted up to the edge of the stage to watch the finale. I can only say that by this point, I was so happy not to be in the crowd anymore.
IMG_7597

Still got a good shot though.

This was literally the most enjoyable and exciting vacation I’ve ever been on. We did everything we wanted to do, we saw every comedian we wanted to see, and we were just so thrilled to be with each other.
IMG_7592
Thank you Santa Monica. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

