blah blah blah gender shit [NSFW]

Music is an excellent medium to express one’s femininity and sexual position, which is what I’m focusing on in this blog.
What does it mean to be “female”? I’ve written about it before, but I want to look a little deeper.
Note:
*I say “sexual position” in this blog because many people are asexual, bisexual, cisgender, agender, transgender, polysexual, and they may have a different view on gender and sexuality than my narrow, straight, female brain can comprehend. For all my lovely humans, I like the idea of “sexual position”. This is not a new version of doggy-style.

Last night, I was watching one of my favorite shows, Nevermind the Buzzcocks. NMTB is a British music quiz show in which various celebrities hang out and talk about music and act silly.
One of the guests was Iggy Azalea, an Australian rapper who, on the show, said her tits are so small she doesn’t consider being topless being nude.
NMTB27-RX4_LOW-0097
She’s quite lovely though. And really, any excuse for me to put Noel Fielding into a blog is welcomed.
Her music isn’t my style, but she’s got some talent. She’s certainly popular. Her video “Work” has over 24 million views.
But it was this video that stopped me.

A couple of things to consider:
1. This video doesn’t have any vulgar images.
2. This video doesn’t contain any nudity.
3. This video features three women fully clothed hanging out on a porch.

The song is about oral sex for women, and it’s got some pretty fabulous tongue-in-cheek lyrics. But the comments on the YouTube page indicate that most people who don’t like this song assume that Iggy Azalea is a massive slut.

Let’s take this video and song.

Things to consider:
1. This video contains nudity.
2. This video contains vulgar images of women dancing.
3. This video’s lyrics are based on making money.

Rihanna is known all across America, and many little girls  know who she is and like her music. Her music is featured on those terrible Kidz Bop albums.
rihanna11
Rihanna: singing to your children about love.

I’m not criticizing either of these women in any way.
But the media has made its choice.
Iggy Azalea’s video would never be allowed on American MTV. Rihanna’s is spotlighted.

Exhibit B:
rs_560x415-130830150852-1024..miley-cyrus-twerk-vma.ls.83013
My favorite little “trainwreck”.

I love that the media has already portrayed her as a disaster. Magazines claim that Miley is seeking professional help for…uhh…wearing nude latex?
Miley-Cyrus-I-need-help-cover
Oh, that’s why she’s hit rock bottom. She’s sleeping with men!
Look at the wording:
“Out of control: 4 men in 4 weeks!”

I wasn’t aware that a woman’s measure was based on her consensual sexual partners.

Then there’s her counterpart on the VMAs, Robin Thicke.
miley-cyrus-robin-thicke-vmas-650-430
He’s such a winner.
His song “Blurred Lines” borders on excusing rape and suggests that women can be “domesticated”.
Lyrics:
You’re a good girl
But I know you want it
I know you want it
I hate these blurred lines
I know you want it.

Here’s the video. The only word I can use to describe this video is “wrong”.

Yes, let’s enjoy as naked women dance around completely clothed (sharply dressed) men, walking around on all fours with hay as their stools, while one of them prances behind the sign “ROBIN THICKE HAS A BIG DICK”.
In an interview with BBC today, Robin Thicke defended his song.
“I don’t think people got it out here in the UK in those positions of power. I think the kids get it. I just have to deal with that. I wrote it about my wife. She’s my good girl. And I know she wants it because we’ve been together for 20 years so I can vouch for that”.

I KNOW SHE WANTS IT BECAUSE WE’VE BEEN TOGETHER FOR 20 YEARS.
What about when she doesn’t want it? Doesn’t this imply that she wants it all the time?
And “the kids” get it? Yeah? The kids get the song about naked women used as accessories to define a man exerting his power and force to get sexual satisfaction?
Why didn’t you put your wife in the video with her tits out? Would that have been too demeaning for the mother of your children?

And Miley Cyrus is the one who is ridiculed for her song about having a good time (which contains no nudity).
Miley-Cyrus-Wrecking-Ball-Directors-Cut
Yeah, girl, I’d be crying too.
But why are some of these ideas rejected and some are revered?
What makes the difference between “Pussy” and “Pour it Up”?
What defines Miley Cyrus as hitting rock bottom while her male counterpart looks polished and proper among a sea of tits?
Let’s look at another set of female artists.

Bjork. Icelandic queen of avant-garde.
bjork_color
I’ll be honest, I never listened to her when I was younger. I’m starting to listen to her now. But it’s her visuals that brought me in.
They’re fucking pieces of art.
But, this video has been banned from all MTV outlets (a little fact I learned watching Nevermind the Buzzcocks.)

The video is banned because it shows a nude Bjork being sewn (yes, sewn) with strands of pearls into her skin. She also makes a corset out of large piercings down her back.
2398667907_e69d6b758d_z

It’s fucking haunting. I can see why it was banned because of the graphic detail in which pearls are sewn through her skin, but, honestly, even if that wasn’t so, would Bjork ever be played on MTV anyway?

Because, omg,
let’s not forget when she wore THE SWAN DRESS.
1330107222_bjork-zoom

So, I’ll move onto my biggest point of the blog.
My lovely lass, Amanda Palmer.
9275885578_125c935d0a_z
This picture was taken at one of her concerts after UK tabloid The Daily Mail made a massive deal about one of Amanda’s nipples showing at a concert.
Her response was to disrobe and write a song (a waltz) about her breasts and her comfort with having them out and about sometimes.

“Dear Daily Mail, you misogynist pile of twats…”
“Sssh, it’s just a naked woman!”

So, like Bjork, instead of suggestively dancing in thongs and singing about wanting it, she addresses her body and sexual position openly and lovingly.

Her video “Do It with a Rockstar” has been censored on YouTube. The uncensored version features what Amanda called #tastefultits and can be seen here:

Her video features a romp in the sack with adult film star Stoya, although the only scenes of “sex” come from kissing and Stoya holding Amanda nude while she screams in anguish and cries.
The video ends with them cuddling.

This video is banned.
palmer-play

This video is not banned.
robin-thicke-e28098blurred-lines_-ft-t-i-pharrell-explicit-version-e2808f-4

This girl won’t be promoted on American MTV.
441462579_1280

This girl is promoted on MTV.
rhianna-pour-iti-up-630x339

Question your media. Question the world around you.
Decide for yourself.

Leave a Reply

