Movement

I said from the beginning that 2014 will be the year of change, and it’s only the first week in March.

So much has happened in these last three months that I can’t truly comprehend it all. I’ve been through some of the worst moments in my entire life. Some days feel like war. True war. I can feel the weight of the world, the millions of tons, standing on my shoulders, and it makes it hard to breathe.

But, as always, there is warmth.

March is moving forward, and that means warm weather is coming. The idea of a warm breeze and longer days actually brings tears to my eyes. It’s a physical, literal, and metaphorical dawn for me.

I’m currently scouring the job market, hoping to be part of an amazing school district and find a safe, secure job. But, the more I research, and the more I step out of my comfort zone, I find myself looking for a challenge.

I love Chicago. I love my city more than anything. It’s an old soul, one that’s been tattered and beaten, but it still rises with the sun every morning. I want to be part of that sunrise.

I would gladly welcome a job in the suburbs. I would hug it and squeeze it and throw myself into it with everything I have.

When I went into graduate school, I was sure I wanted to stick to the burbs. It’s safer, more secure…it’s comfortable.

But, I’m nearing my 26th birthday, and I want to be more than comfortable. I want to be on fire.

I want to fight and scream and make a statement and bring some kids with me into the ring. Chicago isn’t going to win while I’m sitting on the sidelines, staring at the skyline off in the distance. I need to bring my game, now.

After conversing with city teachers and researching the education issues facing Chicago, I have made a decision.

I want to stay in the city. I want to do it while I can.

The suburbs will always be there, quiet and soft. I will probably make my way there, someday.

But for now, the city calls me. And I can’t say no.

The fire calls me.

486359_2832409886476_1646334714_n
This town isn’t perfect. It never will be. But it can be better.

Leave a Reply

