Boxing Day Beauty

While I thought about writing a Christmas blog, I decided against it. It was a rough Christmas. My Grammy isn’t doing well, and while it was wonderful to spend the holiday with her and my Papa, I’d rather write about something a little more uplifting.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3286.jpg
Here’s them yesterday, though. 57 years of marriage, and they’re the loves of my life.

What I’ve decided to write about instead (and Grammy would approve!) is makeup and lotion and junk!
So I used to not give an eff what kind of stuff I bought. Usually I’d by drugstore makeup and fairly nice shampoos and conditioners. But, they’d always be major brands (Maybelline, Suave, Jergens, etc). In the last six months, I started reading how the UK is going completely cruelty free with all products (also if you know me at all, I idolize the UK and want to live there someday). I started looking into what this meant and found that many products that are tested on animals are completely unnecessary, a la makeup and toiletries.
The main animal they test on? Rabbits.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3312.jpg
This is Trouble. He’s our bunny. We’ve had him for over 4 years, and he’s become our kid. How could I own an animal that is being hurt and damaged for makeup and not change my lifestyle?
(He’s crunching on a cruelty free makeup box.)

So today, I went to Nordstrom Rack and Marshalls to shop.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3299.jpg
When I decided to go cruelty free, I first looked through all of my makeup and tossed what wasn’t up to code. I found that four of my favorite brands were good to keep: Stila, Urban Decay, Clinique, and Benefit. These can all be pretty expensive, so if that’s too much for you, Physician’s Formula is sold in drugstores and is very affordable.
When I went to Nordstrom today, I found a bunch of Stila products that were on sale and stocked up.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/
/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3302.jpg
If you know me, you know I adore TJ Maxx and Marshalls. They have some of the best clothes and housewares, ever. But, both stores also have an amazing toiletries section, and many of the brands they carry are cruelty free AND vegan! Here’s everything I purchased today, including the picture above:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3303.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3304.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3305.jpg
Every single product I bought today was under $8. Normally, these brands would be a lot more, but Marshalls/TJ Maxx is insanely affordable.

So, how can you tell if something is cruelty free? Two easy ways. 1: check the label.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3306.jpg
The bunny symbol on the left indicates it’s not tested on animals and is good to go! Yay bunnies!!
It might also say something pretty simple, like “hey, we don’t test, yo.” (Tiny writing on the left!)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ee/19928112/files/2014/12/img_3307-1.jpg

Pretty simple.

The second way is to just google the company. Some brands may not test on animals, but their “parent company” might. That’s up to you if you want to purchase it or not, because you may still be supporting a company that conducts such tests.

That’s my 2 cents! It’s a really easy habit to get into, and you may find some pretty kickass brands you didn’t know about otherwise! 🙂 Happy Boxing Day!

Leave a Reply

